top of page

Your Heart Knows Best (pt 2)

MY OWN INTERNAL STRUGGLE In 2009, I decided to throw caution to the wind and relocate to South Africa. I followed my heart to unknown shores despite my mind telling me that this step into the unknown was something to be scared of. I felt completely insecure, as my decision to move held no real basis in logic. I had no safety net to catch me on the other side – no job, no financial security, no family or friends to offer support – but it didn’t matter. Despite not having a clue of what would happen, I took the plunge. It felt right, somehow. In my own internal struggle, my heart won out. Does this sound familiar to you? Have you ever felt so completely lost? Have you ever felt like what you were doing was right but your mind tried to control your actions and lead you in a different direction? Take a leaf out of my book. Look at where my heart led me: to a country I love, doing a job I adore, surrounded by amazing people who make it all worth it.

Never let your mind tell your heart not to wander

When do we know which decision is right and which way to go?

Every time you start explaining to yourself that you're making the right choice, every time you try to convince yourself with arguments, you are in your head and not in your heart. Your heart needs no explanations - you just know what to do. Let this be your guide. The voices from your brain and from the outside world are sometimes much louder than the gentle internal monologue of your heart. If you are not 100 % sure whether your heart or your brain is leading the discussion, write down the advantages and disadvantages of one particular decision. If you still feel the same as you did before creating your pros and cons list, you know which way your heart leans!

think with your heart get it together

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page